• Overview• Awards• Cray/Fernbach Awards • BOFs• Challenges• Disruptive Technologies• Doctoral Showcase• Keynote & Invited Speakers• Masterworks• Panels• Papers• Posters• Tutorials• Workshops


The conference will continue to serve as the venue for announcing several distinguished professional awards recognizing key contributions to high performance computing, networking and storage.


Gordon Bell Prize

Gordon Bell Prizes are awarded each year to recognize outstanding achievement in high-performance computing. Now administered by the ACM, financial support of the $10,000 award is provided by Gordon Bell, a pioneer in high-performance and parallel computing. The purpose of the award is to track the progress over time of parallel computing, with particular emphasis on rewarding innovation in applying high-performance computing to applications in science. The prize has been awarded every year since 1987. Prizes may be awarded for peak performance as well as special achievements in scalability, time-to-solution on important science and engineering problems, and low price/performance. More information on the Gordon Bell Prize is here.

Seymour Cray Award

The Seymour Cray Computer Science and Engineering Award recognizes innovative contributions to high performance computing systems that best exemplify the creative spirit of Seymour Cray. Nomination form is here.

Sidney Fernbach Award

The Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award honors innovative uses of high performance computing in problem solving. This award was established in 1992 in memory of Sidney Fernbach, one of the pioneers in the development and application of high performance computers for the solution of large computational problems. A certificate and $2,000 are awarded for innovative approaches and outstanding contributions in the application of high performance computers. Nomination form is here.

Best Paper

Best Student Paper

Best Poster

The Best Paper, Best Student Paper, and Best Poster Awards recognize the finest of the many outstanding papers in a highly competitive Technical Program. These prestigious honors will be presented in a special plenary session during the conference. There is no separate submission/nomination process for these awards.

Wednesday, Nov 14

Time Session Event Chair/Speaker Location
10:30AM - 10:50AM Gordon Bell Prize A 281 Tflops Calculation for X-ray Protein Structure Analysis with the Special-Purpose Computer MDGRAPE-3 Yousuke Ohno, Eiji Nishibori, Tetsu Narumi, Takahiro Koishi, Tahir H. Tahirov, Hideo Ago, Masashi Miyano, Ryutaro Himeno, Toshikazu Ebisuzaki, Makoto Sakata, Makoto Taiji A3 / A4
10:50AM - 11:10AM Gordon Bell Prize First-Principles Calculations of Large-Scale Semiconductor Systems on the Earth Simulator Takahisa Ohno, Takenori Yamamoto, Takahiro Yamasaki, Tatsunobu Kokubo, Yuta Sakaguchi, Daisuke Fukata, Akira Azami, Tsuyoshi Uda, Mamoru Usami, Junichiro Koga A3 / A4
11:10AM - 11:30AM Gordon Bell Prize Extending Stability Beyond CPU-Millennium: Micron-Scale Atomistic Simulation of Kelvin-Helmholtz Instability James N. Glosli, Kyle J. Caspersen, John A. Gunnels, David F. Richards, Robert E. Rudd, Frederick H. Streitz A3 / A4
11:30AM - 11:50AM Gordon Bell Prize WRF Nature Run John Michalakes, Josh Hacker, Rich Loft, Michael McCracken, Allan Snavely, Nicholas Wright, Tom Spelce, Brent Gorda, Robert Walkup A3 / A4
1:30PM - 2:15PM Cray and Fernbach Awards Seymour Cray Computer Science and Engineering Award Lecture C4 / D1 / D2 / D3
2:15PM - 3:00PM Cray and Fernbach Awards Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award C4 / D1 / D2 / D3

Thursday, Nov 15

Time Session Event Chair/Speaker Location
1:30PM - 3:00PM SC07 Conference Awards Awards Session TBD TBD A10 / A11

     Home  |  About  |  Contact Us  |  Registration ACM    IEEE    The Computer Society